inspiration

Like I mentioned in my last post, I’m itching for new beginnings and a little change around here–especially when it comes to my home and my wardrobe. I started reading this book after feeling overwhelmed by the constant clutter and disorganization in our house, and it felt liberating to donate five large containers of clothes and other pieces after doing an initial sweep. [The author of the book would be very disappointed in me though, as I’ve seen neglected the book and never completed her instructions. I’ve got to pick this back up again.]

One thing about this book that really resonated with me is how she encourages everyone to own only those things that “spark joy.” For me, I found joy in the idea of throwing everything out and starting over, so I knew I needed to reexamine the state of things and start instilling what I want for me, and my home.

Over the last year or so, I’ve come to realize that what I really want and value is minimalism. I want to start thinking in terms of quality over quantity, and invest in pieces that I plan to keep for a while, and then pass on.

So, naturally, I took to Pinterest for inspiration. I read somewhere that the right way to use Pinterest is to pin the things you like and look for a theme among them, and that theme reveals something about your aesthetic. I like that theory. I found that for my wardrobe, I gravitated toward lots of neutrals and classic styles made of high-quality fabrics.

wardrobe1 wardrobe2 wardrobe3

In addition to Pinterest, I found these blog posts to be really inspiring, too.

wardrobe4  wardrobe6 wardrobe5

I also really love this company and what they’re doing to create more transparency in the clothing industry. I’m eyeing their cotton tees and tanks, and especially like this one. 

As for my home, I love white walls with bits of color here and there, greenery and delicate details. Simple and streamlined.

home2 home1 home4

In the kitchen, I’m longing for open cabinets and some new essentials that are beautifully made and sleek.

home5home6

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I realize this will be a slow transition as we gradually replace things over time, but I think it will also serve as a cleansing–ridding ourselves of those things that have served their purpose, and replacing with new treasures that fit the aesthetic and simplicity that we want for ourselves and our home.

So for now, I’ll continue searching for inspiration. More to come.

*wardrobe photos: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 // home photos: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 

Leave a Reply

